Gun Trust

colonel00

WKR
I know there's a whole internet of info out there but sifting through it can be a challenge. Just wondering if anyone has any info to share on setting up a gun trust. Things to know or watch for, etc.

I did it through a lawyer paid probably way too much but all my cans are through it but I'm still lost on how to add/remove people and just the general use of it. I'll be watching as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
colonel00

colonel00

WKR
I'm still learning all of the intricacies but as I understand it, a gun trust is like an estate trust where you can have trustees that share ownership of something and you can setup transfer of the trust contents upon your death and it doesn't have to go through probate or other steps. This is especially beneficial for NFA items like suppressors, short barreled rifles, etc. Instead of me just going through the tax stamp process, paying the $200 and waiting forever for the gun to be registered to me alone, it is registered to the trust and anyone that is part of the trust can legally use said items.

A quick snip from a page I was just reading:
What a Gun Trust IS
A Gun Trust is, at its roots, an estate planning tool. It is specialized in that it allows for some flexibility when acquiring and transferring National Firearms Act regulated items. This generally refers to Title II items such as suppressors, short-barreled rifles and short-barreled shotguns.

Some of the benefits are:
* More than one person can be a Trustee and can thus possess and use the items held by the Trust without having to request individual permission from your local Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO) or the BATFE.
* Since the items are held in the Trust, if the current Trustee in possession of the item dies, there is no transfer procedure. This, of course, assumes that you have set up the Trust to stay running after your death, and that you have assigned rights to other Trustees.