Hammer bullets keyhole?

Tremain4414

WKR
Classified Approved
Hello all,

So I am extremely new to reloading but decided I’d take the leap and work up a load for my 1/9 twist 300 win mag built by Oregon mountain rifle. I was having a ridiculously hard time finding a factory load this gun liked to shoot which I why I took the plunge into hand loading.

With the help of a buddy who’s been reloading for 5+ years, I worked through the ladder test and found a good node at 78.5 grains of H1000 with the 199 hammer hunters. Velocity is between 3121 and 3140 FPS.

My question is that I’m seeing paper tears around the edges of the bullet hole that make me think the round may not be completely stable. I looked at several examples of “keyhole” bullet strikes which all appear to basically be broadside strikes of the bullet into paper, not what I’m seeing.

Based on what you guys are seeing, do I have anything to worry about or should I keep loading them and go hunt? Thanks for any and all advice!

Attachments

• BC3D2CF8-C222-41CA-9B03-7A50E3BA03DC.jpeg
    BC3D2CF8-C222-41CA-9B03-7A50E3BA03DC.jpeg
    266 KB · Views: 175

nhyrum

Lil-Rokslider
The bullets are plenty stable. Check out the jbm ballistics stability calculator. Don't with about it

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

Legend

WKR
I had to do a ladder set around seating depth to get the hammer bullet to perform. But now it shoots great. I bet you can improve a fair bit with seating depth.

OP
Tremain4414

Tremain4414

WKR
Classified Approved
I definitely have, that’s just an initial picture from one of the first tests I did. I’ve since been able to clean that up into 1/2-3/4 Moa groups, which honestly is as good as I’m able to shoot. I’m completely happy with their accuracy, just want to make sure they’re stable enough to hunt with

Northpark

WKR