Hammer Loading

Tjheal82

FNG
So how important is the Lee FC die? I’m getting ready to load the hunters for a few different calibers and curious if the extra step is worth the time. I’m also new to loading the monos so it’s all a learning process
Please email me at [email protected]. Wanting to purchase your Christensen muzzle brake

OP
OXN939

OXN939

WKR
Did you chrono that load?

So finally found my way into a Labradar- more data to come shortly. With 54.7 grains of H4831SC, I'm getting right at 2900 FPS with the 124 HH. I've shot 4 groups so far, all of which have looked like this. Going to try adding another half a grain or so to my charge to get to 2950 FPS and I'll be perfectly happy there if I can keep the way the groups look.

Also of note, since there was some discussion about Lee FCDs, this is the fourth sub MOA load I've come up with using Hammers by just setting my FCD at 1/4th a turn- I'm way too poor and stingy with my components to run a second set of ladders playing with it and that seems to be an amount that consistently improves my groups.

20211222_114132.jpg

fshaw

WKR
Anyone have experience using Hammer bullets out of a .223 on deer?
Thanks.

FCCDerek

Lil-Rokslider
Anybody here loaded the 109 Absolute Hammers for a 6.5 CM? I'm curious about doing this for a coyote round. I think it would be a very flat shooter. Just not sure what powder to run for it.

Rieckman

Lil-Rokslider
Anybody here loaded the 109 Absolute Hammers for a 6.5 CM? I'm curious about doing this for a coyote round. I think it would be a very flat shooter. Just not sure what powder to run for it.
On the load data on either the hammer forum or long range hunting forum guys most guys tried varget. You can always message hammer bullets and Steve is pretty good. Typically gives a range of powders based on burn rate chart.

FCCDerek

Lil-Rokslider