Hammock question

B.Hill

FNG
I am looking at buying a hammock, I’ve never used one before but like the simplicity of them, I like the warbonnet blackbird xlc, with the removable bug net and especially the foot box, does anyone have any pros cons on this model,
Also wondering if I would be better of looking at lightweight tents space wise and weight, after I get a hammock, tarp, under quilt and sleeping bag I feel like my pack would be full.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kleinpm

FNG
Hi,

I have multiple camping hammocks i have made, along with the associated quilts and tarps.
For most trips i find hammocks hard to beat. Might be a tad heavier than a lightweight tent, bag, and pad but they are SO much more comfortable.

Warbonnet gear has always been highly rated, but most of this gear is easy to make at home with minimal skills. I made a down top quilt, down underquilt, synthetic underquilt, single and double layer hammocks, and a sweet tarp for a fraction of the retail cost.

Patrick

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

bwhntMT

Lil-Rokslider
I do a lot of hammock camping and have taken my setup on hunts well into October. That being said, I prefer a tent if the temps are dropping below 30, if there will be rain or snow, or if I have a lot of gear to manage. I always sleep better in a hammock, so the tent always comes with some reluctance.

wyosam

WKR
I really like a hammock if it is warm and mostly dry. Once it is cold and/or wet, I just think it is more trouble than it is worth. By the time you bring enough crap to stay warm and dry, a tent is just more efficient for space and weight.

Winters Kamp

Lil-Rokslider
I’ve been wanting to get back into a hammock , but for cooler weather I’m still hunting for a good under quilt.

Pigdog

Lil-Rokslider