Hanwag Banks SF EXTRA GTX

DanimalW

WKR
Has anybody tried these boots? I was considering these for elk hunting. I have a pair of Crispi Thors that fit ok, but I still feel like they’re tight around the front end of my foot. The wider toe box seems intriguing to me. I’ve never tried on a pair of Hanwags before, so I’m totally unfamiliar.

Tauntohawk

Lil-Rokslider
I have the older model banks II in a wide (forefoot only) and they are a great boot, I got them after I couldn't find a Crispi to fit or a Danner I liked.

I will say that since I've tried meindl offerings I'd like to stack the comfort hiker against them when I thought for sure I'd stay with the banks line for my light hiker

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

OP
DanimalW

DanimalW

WKR
So I ordered some Meindl comfort hikers, Hanwag Banks SF Extra, and Hanwag Ancash GTX in the SF Extra last. They all fit similarly in the foot (roomy in the front). The Meindl’s had a weird pinch point around my inside ankle bone that I can’t explain. I’m going with the Banks and returning the Ancash. Both fit awesome, but I wanted lighter weight, but now I know about the Ancash if I need a more substantial boot down the road.

The Straight Fit Extra last is awesome for me. Not Altra (old Altra) or Topo wide in the forefoot, but definitely wider than other boots I’ve tried, including the Crispi Thor. What I liked most was that the heel didn’t feel sloppy, and the lacing really locked my heel in despite the wide forefoot.

Drawbacks of the Banks seem to be stitched lacing on the boot lowers (always seems to be where they eventually leak), no toe rand, and a more flexible sole than some would like. Not terrible in my opinion because I like to have some feel, but definitely not the Crispi Thor’s in that regard