Hauling meat on mules

Mike 338

WKR
Another guy I think might be good is Warwick Schiller. I think he offers stuff through video library. Everything I've heard out of his mouth is dead-on.

When I had dogs, I went to the public library and checked out a book on "how to train your dog". I read it and did it. The result was that I had the best trained dog of all the folks I came into contact with. It wasn't that I was a good trainer or my dog was smart. It was that I followed the process and wasn't to proud to think I was born with some genetic code that gave me some special inborn knowledge of dogs and training. I just read it and did it and not much more. Turns out that almost nobody is actually willing to invest a small amount of time into seeking/finding/incorporating real help. Instead they seek and find free and easy advice that doesn't require more than a weekend to implement. It may or may not improve some behavior but the critter still isn't "good".

A horse is a big strong animal and you'll never out muscle one. A ringy horse can hurt both you and itself. My advice is, don't get behavior modification advice from knuckleheads who think just because they feed a horse and haven't been killed yet, that they know horse behavior inside and out. Get your advice from somebody who works with many hundreds, every day for years. Also, he/she must also be able to have the knack to teach what they know to others. No doubt, if they've managed to not get to busted up, they have a system they use that works well and has been proven over many different animals and issues. That doesn't mean free advice isn't good advice but how do you know? Once you acquire and implement a program, you'll know how a horse learns and how to teach and you'll be able to tailor your training to your specific needs and what you think your animal needs to learn because there's no way a single Program can address everything you'll ever need.