Hello from Michigan

Hello all,
As the user name would suggest I’m a set taught first gen adult onset hunter, angler, and hiker. I’ve been fishing for a few years now and have done some small game hunting but no big game hunting. Most of my fishing has been done from a kayak though I’ve more recently started to shore fish the rivers by the house to keep my 22 month old daughter entertained and foster a love of the outdoors in her. I’ve wanted to do a western hunt for quite awhile but never really worked towards that goal so this year I got my first whitetail tags for here in Michigan. I’ll just be rifle and muzzloader hunting this year but already thinking I’ll be getting a bow soon for next season. I’m hoping to get out west for antelope in the next year or two and then see where things progress.

If you havnt, buy a WY antelope preference point. Its like 30 bucks. Points period ends the 3rd of Nov i believe.
Go get em!

Me too. My parents were city kids but lucky for me they moved to rural IL and i got the chance to explore the great outdoors. I worked for a farmer that had a "back 40" the he let me hunt. My first whitetail buck was taken with a freebie bow. My next two were taken with a mossberg 12ga. I wouldn't push yourself too hard to get out west too fast. There is a lot to unpack/learn while hunting and the hunting out west is vastly different than back east. It's a totally different skill set and gear list. The gear is expensive. In IL you can kill a trophy with a $300 shotgun/scope and that's about it. In Arizona not so much. If i were you i'd enjoy the journey and slowly accumulate the gear for big western hunts. I've been here for 5 years now and i'm still buying into the gear. This year it's gonna be legit pack.

I have two young kids and its tough finding the time. Thankfully hunting is something i plan on doing the rest of my life. Good luck!

OP