Help for a new Idaho resident...

OOSWLC

FNG
yeah yeah, i'm one of those assholes that moved here recently- but my one saving grace is that i'm from the east coast and not california.

my fiance and i moved to boise in the spring where we don't know anyone at all- we picked boise because she was able to find a job here, and we picked idaho because we want to eat...

which leads me to my request for some guidance...

while hunting access here is crazy compared to what i'm used to at home- the whole process of tags/units/planning out my 2022 hunting calendar has my head spinning....

among other things, i'm a bit confused on the application process... i generally understand the controlled hunt/application deal, but... if i get a general elk or deer tag... how do i even know where i can go vs where i can't?

^^i have a ridiculous amount of total noob questions like that- but more than anything, i would really appreciate being able to connect with someone local-ish who can help me plan the best way to spend my year to maximize my chances of filling the freezer.

rifle, archery, trapping, and fishing- i'm here to take advantage of every opportunity i can. i feel like a kid at christmas being able to get my resident license tomorrow!

As a fellow East Coaster who has hunted in Idaho the last 2 years (elk and mule deer) I am super jealous! There are a bunch of videos you can find online that will help explain it all, but it's really not that difficult. I obviously don't know anything about resident permits/tags or anything like that, but in terms of figuring out the tag system it's fairly simple. I'm sure you could also call/visit your local IDFG office and they would be able to help you.

Good luck!

N.ID7803

WKR