Help me decide which way to go!

snowplow

WKR
Hey dudes,

I have a TiGoat Vertex 5 Tipi
(TiGoat Vertex5)

I also have a Borah Gear Snowyside Bivy
(Gear Review: Borah Gear Snowyside Bivy – Max, The Cyclist)

I got the bivy because it weights about as much as my tyvek groundcloth.

So my end goal is to have a basecamp setup capable of a stove and a lightweight minimal bivy style setup for the western washington rain forest.

In my experience tipis go up a bit faster than tarps. And with no thought about guy lines so doing it in the dark is a snap. I am considering using a small super light tipi for my bivy rig for that reason.

However, I am wondering if the tipis can handle random bivy spots on hillsides well? I have no experience with that but it seems to me that on uneven ground a tipi and tarp would suck down to the ground just the same.

How about tipis on hillsides if you cant find a flat spot? Could you just pitch the tipi like normal and have the center pole just angled weird but perpendicular to the ground? It would look super goofy but I don't really see why it wouldn't work out? On the other hand a supertarp or whatnot you could just adjust the sides to make up for the hill and put your trekking pole straight up and down. So you would look cooler for sure, but I'm not sure if you really gain anything.

What do you guys think? Is a tarp the only way to fly for a bivy, or could an ultralight tipi be better?

(Keep in mind I'm in the rainforest so I need cover from the rain not the sun. I dont need the tarp for shade ever. There is always shade around with all the trees)

There are times and locations when a hammock is the only solution. Flat ground is unnecessary. You hang above the mud. A tarp overhead and you're go to in no times once you learn the ropes.

OP
S

snowplow

WKR
I get that. Thats what lve been doing actually. Im trying to transition to the ground.

Sent from my LG-H811 using Tapatalk