High country mule deer

I’ve heard mule deer generally shed their velvet by September 10th? I’ve also heard once they shed they drop down into the timber. So with the Colorado archery season starting on the 2nd, you would only have the first 8 or so days to hunt them in the high country? I’m new to this, looking at all my options for an archery hunt 2021.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’ve heard mule deer generally shed their velvet by September 10th? I’ve also heard once they shed they drop down into the timber. So with the Colorado archery season starting on the 2nd, you would only have the first 8 or so days to hunt them in the high country? I’m new to this, looking at all my options for an archery hunt 2021.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Man, I've sure heard of some variation here. Where I was at last year, bucks were tucked out of the alpine and working the edges of timber by the 5th. Finding stalks turned real tough after that. You'll see Colorado guys like Snyder and Big Chief Whackabuck (Henry Ferg.) killing bucks later than the 10th with archery equipment, though!

It's not a bad idea to have a backup area in a burn or low country sage brush stuff that would allow you to keep stalking deer if they drop out of the alpine before you're ready to go home.

Jaden makes a very good point that it really depends on the country you're hunting. I've found you're more time limited if you're trying to hunt bucks in the alpine, but less so in other terrain like a burn area or oak brush slopes. Last year I guided a buddy into a nice hard horned buck who was feeding in a clearing on September 19th, but that was at 9100 ft in brush country. If you're hunting only the high alpine, get there as early in the season as possible.

ColoradoV

WKR
Not the best news but you won’t have 8 days.. Thanks to the change that the Colorado bowhunters ass pushed the cpw to make - you will have as little as 2 days in many places....