Himalayan Snowcock Hunt (Pic Heavy)

NVCHUKAR

WKR
I thought I would share my 2013 hunt. Growing up in Nevada allowed me to have the opportunity to hunt this rare bird in my backyard. For those that don't know it is basically like hunting a chukar on steriods. They like to live above 10K, the Ruby MTNs and East Humboldts are pretty much the only place you can hunt them unless you travel to the Himalayas. I have been chasing this bird for the last five years with a couple of opportunities that didn't pan out. This year was a different story as I finally bagged on of these elusive buggers.

Here is some of the terrain that they like to live in.

URL=http://s741.photobucket.com/user/755canal/media/P1000647_zpscee4dd75.jpg.html]
P1000647_zpscee4dd75.jpg
[/URL]

Day 1 this year was frustrating, I hiked about 15miles over the different mountain tops in the photos above. I was chasing after several groups that would fly when I got within 150 yards of them.

As usual I could get closer to these guys than I could the birds.

Day 2 was spent hiking back up to the tops about a 3000 foot climb in elevation. Listening to their bugle at sunrise guiding me in their general direction. I spent all morning hiking with no luck. I decided to sit down and eat some lunch and regroup. Luck was on my side, while i was sitting down I spotted a lone bird working its way back up to the peaks. I cut him off and had an easy shot.

Here is my first snowcock.

OP
NVCHUKAR

NVCHUKAR

WKR
The pictures don't do this country justice but you guys all know what its like to be on top of the world by yourself.

Here is my lab upset not understanding why I am bringing home birds without her.

I recomend to anyone that has the time and desire to go after one of these. They aren't easy to come by and you will do a lot of hiking asking yourself why in the world you would do this for a stupid bird. In the end its worth it and I plan to punish myself again next year.