Hobble, stake, highline, elec fence?

Sgtusmc14

Lil-Rokslider
So here is the deal. I have been hunting the flattops for a few years with a group of buddies, and we have been pretty successful so far (mostly thanks to the Marine Corps and being able to walk a very long ways with heavy things on our backs...oh and screw the mountain warfare training center that place is hell! lol)

That being said I'm from MO and have a rodeo,/ranch background, but...when we are gathering cattle out here its not like it is out there. You don't stay overnight and the horses are usually tied to or in the trailer.

My gf is wanting to go to the flat tops in Aug and bring 2 horses and a pack horse so here is my question.

Hobble, stake, highline, or electric fence. All my horses are hobble broke but they will graze pretty far with them. What are some good staking techniques and or should I just plan on bringing a highline set up. I was thinking to stake them, maybe stake/hobble and let them graze. What do you western side of the country cowboys think?

If this works out I am thiniking of bringing a couple to hunt (at least pack in) but I know I need to start on it now.

So much of it is scenario specific. How many animals are your taking, quantity of forage available, trees, hunting style.

Here is my two cents. Hobbles are nice for when your hanging around camp or if you come back frequently (I don't leave hobbled over night). The weigh pretty much nothing so I bring them all the time.

I used to have a full highline kit with bag, rope, and knot savers. Now I know the areas I will camp so I don't need that much rope between trees so I use my lash ropes as the highline and lash cinches as tree savers, and bring three knot savers. No added weight but still have the functionality and security of a highline.