How heavy is your tripod?

Datslab

FNG
Any thoughts on the Slik pro 824 CF with svh 501 head vs a Sirui t-0024 with a va-5 head?

Admittedly I have no experience with tripods and am looking for the best stability I can get under $300. Mainly willl be sitting while glassing running binos off of it eventually want to add a nice spotter and the possibility of the occasional shot with a sub 9lb rifle.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
^ I have the 024- it's a very nice tripod, plenty stable for what you're considering. If you're only going to be sitting, you can remove the lowest set go legs to shave a few ounces off.

I have a VA-5 head, but find myself running a ballhead most of the time for weight savings.

I have a Surui T-025X at 28 ounces with the ball head. It is light, and works for the Kowa 554 spotting scope I use, which is small and light. However, I want to add an RRS Ascend for shooting off of and as a midweight tripod for my wife's photography (she has an FLM that I think is 4.3 pounds without a head) and is heavier than I am willing to pack for hunting.
Not considering the Tripod what tripod heads have you tried? Pro's & Con's?

Marbles

WKR
Classified Approved
Not considering the Tripod what tripod heads have you tried? Pro's & Con's?
Not many, and all are ball heads. The Surui head that came with the T-025X is nice for a small head, it is 8 ounces I believe. The larger FLM heads are nice (wife has a CB-43), but heavy. I got light weight FLM head, it was about 2 ounces. While it locked down well enough to hold the Kowa, it was not smooth and with that much weight had a very small window were it could move but was not floppy.

Vanguard ball heads suck.