How often are you practicing?

PennDude

FNG
Every few years I pick up my recurve, ultimately deciding not to hunt with it. 2020 was the perfect year to pick up my Bear Grizzly again and get to practicing. So on December 8th I started shooting again and made a promise to myself that I would shoot every single day. Even if I only had time for 3 arrows, I would practice.

It has been less than a month, and I am really pleased with my progress. I shot at an indoor club last night and had some 3 arrow groups that really surprised me. All at 20 yards. I’m confident that if I continue to shoot daily, I’ll be proficient enough to hunt with a stickbow in 2021.

I’m interested to hear about how often you guys shoot and what tactics or drills you use to build your proficiency.

Had to attach a pic of my target because my wife could care less, and I’m pretty happy with it.

Attachments

• 85EEAF4F-F95B-4046-B16C-31460B7602D4.jpeg
    85EEAF4F-F95B-4046-B16C-31460B7602D4.jpeg
    281.9 KB · Views: 47

oldgoat

WKR
To shoot good at hunting distances, (20ish yards or less) I don't really have to practice during season other than I do usually shoot a practice arrow each time I'm up in the stand and an occasional stumping shot if I'm in a good spot where I won't lose or break an arrow. I try to shoot 3d once a week or more during the summer. When we elk hunt, we will gps spots that are good for stumping and will pass through them every chance coming or going to hunting spots because it's fun and good practice and the shooting distances for elk tend to be a little longer and I feel require more practice even if the target is much larger!

Felix40

WKR
I barely shoot at all until a few weeks before a hunt. I probably average 12 arrows a week most of the year. Then when I’m getting ready to hunt I will shoot 10-20 arrows every day. I think I’ve just done it long enough that muscle memory comes back quick.