How to choose a NWT outfitter?

sarzan

FNG
Newbie here, so apologies is that has been discussed. Looking to schedule a Dall Sheep hunt for 2023/24.

My question is not so much on who you would recommend, but rather, how to choose, when many if not all the NWT outfitters seem great. What are the different themes, nuances? Anyone with knowledge?

I spoke to a couple of the 7 or 8 of them... they were all genuine, cordial, and said that any of the other NWT outfitters would be just as great.

So how do I choose?

OutdoorsMD

Lil-Rokslider
Ask for references and talk to as many people as you need. Allowed me to narrow down between a couple after which It was a matter of available dates.

walleyes

FNG
What kind of hunt are you looking at. There are some differences in what they offer from horseback to backpack, super cub vs helicopter.

But you at right in that they are all good and a good group.

OP
S

sarzan

FNG
What kind of hunt are you looking at. There are some differences in what they offer from horseback to backpack, super cub vs helicopter.

Thanks, walleyes. Should have mentioned that.
I'm looking for a tough hunt, no comfort. I'm in pretty good shape, and I am looking for a challenge. This is the primary reason why I am looking for a Dall Sheep hunt. I also would like to combine with Caribou.

what walleyes said is pretty much the only difference. You simply can not go wrong with any of the outfitters in the NWT. The only other question I would ask is if you plan on shooting something else on the trophy fee, what those fees are and if you would have to move camps (and pay to move) for that animal. Otherwise you cant go wrong in the NWT. Artic Red and Canol would be my two top choices.

bates

WKR

boom here you go right here.

what do you want in the hunt and experience?

Helicopter probably easier and quicker hunt? NWT Outfitters/Nahanni Butte

More of an adventure without scouting/ Super Cub? Arctic Red