How to NOT piss off others on public land

Hi all,
New to hunting, and looking for tips on how to not piss off other hunters on public land.

I plan to give rifle hunting a shot this fall - specifically the High Buck hunt here in WA. I'm an experienced backpacker and am looking at spots I can hike in 8-12 miles, but I know I'm still likely to run into a lot of other hunters. I'm completely new to the hunting game, and one of biggest concerns is being respectful of others while on public land. Any suggestions on best practices? I'm specifically thinking along the lines of:
- If I had a planned glassing spot and see others on a nearby ridge - how close is too close? Keep hiking and find a new spot clear of blaze orange regardless of how far away they may be?
- Where not to set up camp (folks may planned to hunt that area)?
- Any other tips that can save me from an awkward confrontation that could ruin my first time out.

Thanks!

sndmn11

WKR
I wouldn't give a second thought about glassing from the same ridge as someone else. If you are close enough to think you are intruding, you are close enough to chat with them. You might be hunting different species, they might be scouting, who knows. If it's more than a 2 minute walk, you arent intruding.

Pretty basic when it comes to camp site selection, certainly dont go to the bottom of a basin and set up camp. The high hunt can be loaded with people or not, depending on where you go, And what wildfires pop up and push people around. 8-12 miles gets you away from most of the people, although Washingtons trail systems carry a lot of hikers that time of year. A lot of people that do the HH every year, have their plans and spots, communicate with everyone you see and have fun. Find water early and plan for all the weather. Ive seen 75° during the day and 18" of snow that same night... Good luck, Maybe ill see ya up there

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member