Hunting accompanied by a dog

I'm new to Rokslide and to hunting in general, but I am trying to start this season with bear in the WA Cascades. I have two main questions:

1) Is it legal to bring my dog with me to hunt? She is not trained to track game or even a blood trail, she's just a good friend.

2) Will it hinder my hunt to have her with me? She is a 15 month Belgian Malinois, with a high prey drive, but I don't really anticipate being very close to the game I am hunting. Will her scent be any more suspicious than my own?

Thanks, all responses appreciated.

Soj51hopeful

Lil-Rokslider
You Being new to hunting I would remove any distractions in the field and concentrate solely on the hunt. I don’t know Washington rules, but I can’t imagine a puppy being a good thing on a spot and stalk bear hunt.

DRUSS

WKR
I had a dog that I used to be able to hunt with. very well minded and mannered. but it wasnt legal here in Oregon. I had a long discussion with OSP about it. he accompanied me on rifle and bow hunts, deer ,elk. never bear though which I thought was ok before my friendly OSP officer enlightened me to my lack of knowledge.
but I truly enjoyed his company on many outings prior to learning better. he was a companion not a hunter. he never put my hunts in a bad spot.

slvrslngr

WKR
I wouldn't have your fuzzy friend with you while hunting bear. Just having her with you could be construed as "hunting" or "pursuing". Page 93 of the regs. Not to mention, dogs and bears don't mix well.

ramont

Lil-Rokslider
1. No, it's not legal.
2. See #1.

Also, as already mentioned, bears and dogs don't mix well, a dog increases the chances of you being attacked by a bear. Dogs will attack a bear and then the bear will attack anything else that gets in it's way as it tries to get away from the dog.