Hunting Alaska as a Resident?

kad11

WKR
What is it like hunting Alaska as a resident (let's say you live in/ near Anchorage) in terms of cost and time?

From what I understand, sheep and goat hunting is pretty expensive and probably a week or more time commitment. Are there areas that guys drive to and then hike in to hunt sheep? Or is everything pretty much fly in?

Is it common for residents to take a weekend to go hunt moose or caribou? What about black/ brown/ grizzly bear? Deer?

Is there such a thing as day hunting or quick overnighters in Alaska?

As background, I'm working on a graduate degree in environmental engineering (taught HS math and science before that) and will be starting the job search in less than a year. I moved to MT six years ago and quickly became addicted to western big game hunting. As a teacher I was limited to hunting Saturdays and could usually squeak in three to four "day hunts" per month from Sept - Nov. A typical day of elk hunting for me involved hitting the trailhead 2-4 hrs before first light in order to be 5-8 miles in. I would hunt all day and then hike out at the end of shooting light. This style of hunting worked fairly well for me and is the only type/ duration I've ever been exposed to. With the impending career change I'm excited to explore some new country and moving to Alaska (with my wife and young daughter) is one of the considerations; staying in MT or looking for work in WY or ID are also on our short list.

I'm just looking for descriptions of the types of hunting that are available so that I can develop realistic perspectives/ expectations; I would be eager to soak up as many opportunities as possible, but I would also be balancing hunting with spending time with my young and growing family as well as a non-seasonal job.

Thanks for any insight you may be able to provide!

Last edited:

hodgeman

WKR
Hunting varies greatly for residents depending on where you live.