Hunting Mule deer in SE Montana

Lato1987

FNG
Hey Guys!

I have been hunting SE Montana for Mule Deer for a few years now. I was wondering if anyone has noticed if the lack of rain / weather has changed things?

WCB

WKR
Not limited to SE MT but hunting Wyoming this year and ND for deer and also MT for Elk. There are feed and water issues which has in some areas changed how or where the animals are using it.

Sister lives in MT always a ton of deer on their ranch but was very slim pickings all summer into mid oct. They got some weather and the deer showed up in mass to where they typically rut and winter on their ranch.

not sure if that helps but short answer would be yes in some areas it has changed things.

BluMtn

WKR
Not limited to SE MT but hunting Wyoming this year and ND for deer and also MT for Elk. There are feed and water issues which has in some areas changed how or where the animals are using it.

Sister lives in MT always a ton of deer on their ranch but was very slim pickings all summer into mid oct. They got some weather and the deer showed up in mass to where they typically rut and winter on their ranch.

not sure if that helps but short answer would be yes in some areas it has changed things.
Asking for a friend, can I have your sisters address? 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣

Dirtbag

WKR
I just got back from SE montana and had a very challenging but good hunt.I spoke to the local warden prior to the hunt and he mentioned the few years of drought, CWD, and EHD has had a effect on numbers and patterns. I noticed a lot of deer congregated along the river bottoms where there is more ample forage and very few deer in other areas. Much of the BLM did not have great forage and water sources. Deer were found on parcels with far access from roads and where stock tanks were present.

BuzzH

WKR