Hunting over a mock scrape

mmcdonough

Lil-Rokslider
So I'm still fairly new to this mid-west white tail game. Not used to these long stand sits in freezing weather or many of the tactics that are so different from chasing big game out west. I'm getting better at though! Anyways, I had caught a couple bucks on camera in mid-October. Nothing monstrous but a couple of big bodied 6 points. I read about mock scrapes and decided to make one close to the stand that I've been hunting. I let it sit for a good week and went back to check it out. There's fresh scrapes all over! Only caught one on camera a couple times but it seems like I got one of those bucks pretty fired up.

Now I'm trying to figure out the best method of hunting it. I've tried to blind call and rattle of out that stand in the last couple of weeks in the mornings and evenings but haven't had any luck. I'm wondering if blind calling is the best method or whether or not I should just sit and wait quietly for something to happen? I did freshen up the scrape a couple of days ago but I'm wondering how long I should wait? I also re-positioned my trail cam so hopefully that gives me a better picture in terms of time of day when activity is going down. Other than that I'm kind of clueless as how to to proceed. I get really stir crazy just sitting there all day but I know the rut action is almost in full swing right now.

Anyone have any opinions or moral support? I've been working hard and putting a lot of hours in the stand but just haven't seem much activity at all yet. It's been a little disheartening. Anything including criticism would be much appreciated!

WCB

WKR
My opinion if you have bucks consistently hitting the scrapes in daylight hunt them...If they are close to bedding in a travel corridor hunt them. However, the past week is the same week every year that scrapes pop up. Not saying your scrape didn't draw a deer over to it but it could just be the timing of the rain dance if you now what I mean.