Hunting Partners

gaarchery

FNG
Hey all,

I am planning to start hunting out west in 2021. (Only reason I am not starting this year is that I have a big whitetail trip to Iowa planned with my Dad this year). However, being from Georgia, I don’t currently know anyone else who has the desire to go out west on a DIY backpack elk hunt. So that leaves me in the situation of wanting to get started but having no experience and no one to learn with. Being that I have no experience, I would definitely prefer not to go it alone to begin with. My question is, is there anyone on this forum who has some experience that would be willing to show a newbie the ropes? Or does anyone know of a better way to find western hunting partners? Any help here would be greatly appreciated! I am 26, in decent shape, and very eager to learn.
Thanks everyone!

Rich M

WKR
I did an online meet and hunt w guy. Didn't work out so well.

I would go Solo before doing another blind date kind of hunt.

If you are a good GA deer hunter you will do better than you think. Plus yer young and can run all over the place.

I think most guys who say they know nothing never really hunted. Your eastern hunt the woods skills will help a bunch.

Beendare

WKR
I've heard a few horror stories...and some that have worked out.

how good of an interviewer are you? grin

One of my best buddies is Co resident I met blind over 30 years ago....I talked to him on the phone a few times...and just drove out to hunt with him- the first time we met in person. Now we talk once a week at least and have been hunting together off and on ever since.

WORTH CONSIDERING; This type of thing is as dependent on YOU as it is the other guy. If you are a picky ass person, eccentric, easily irritated...my guess is it ain't going to work out-

________

Poser

WKR
Get out and do some turkey hunting, hog hunting etc with any potential partners and insist on doing them as camping trips.

ELKhunter60

Lil-Rokslider