Hunting when it doesn’t get dark

mobilefamily

Lil-Rokslider
I did an 8/10-19/20 sheep hunt in the Brooks. One thing that bothered me more than expected was the endless days. It never got black dark. That was a new experience for me so I thought I’d share it for others with similar plans.

The main problem extended light created was that we had to make a conscious decision to quit each day. I hated that.

I’ve been doing “type 2 fun” stuff regularly for 30+ years. As the youngest of three brothers, I’m used to enduring the suck and getting my ass kicked by weather, physical exhaustion, and the emotional roller coasters of outdoor experiences that don’t come with a guarantee. I love that shit. But I’m used to there being a finish line.

Those days in the mountains never really had a finish line. There was a big difference to me in losing light and having to go back to camp versus managing physical capabilities and turning for home based on what a clock said, knowing I had to leave some gas in the tank for the next day. We did 12-14 hours most days. Some were abbreviated or delayed start due to heavy rain or fog that made it impossible to see where sheep might have been.

I have no regrets about my training for the hunt. I did all I could do while running a business, staying married, and staying connected to our teenage daughter. As has been said ad infinitum: you cannot get in good enough shape. In the end, my legs carried me 98 miles without a shot opportunity. I wasn’t the fastest guy to ever walk the country, but I gave it hell.