Idaho 2021 season

As an idaho resident I’ve been curious to see if hunters experienced less hunting pressure from fellow hunters in this past season? With the new reduced non-resident tags I would assume we had less out of state guys. I also know idaho is blowing up and there are new residents in the field. As a self-employed flooring contractor I deal with many new idaho residents. Not trying to start beef. I’m honestly curious what guys have experienced last season compared to previous years. I hunted a new unit/zone last year so I don’t know how my usual areas were last season. Most of my buddies claimed to have similar hunting encounters with other hunters as in years past. Thanks for the input if you have the desire to post. Like I said, not trying to stir up conflict here. Just interested in feedback. 👍🏻

Fullfan

WKR
I will chime in. Been hunting Idaho as a non resident for 30+ years. Zone we archery hunted last fall has very few nonresident tags available.

We ran into more hunters and saw more camps last Sept then we ever have. And they were not nonresidents..

IdahoElk

WKR
I saw way more resident hunters last year and fewer non res. Currently Idaho's population is exploding.
This is the Pioneer and smoky Bennett zones where I live.

mtnwrunner

Super Moderator
Staff member
Yup, lots more hunters afield. I didn't take a survey if they were residents or non res. Don't matter to me, pressure is pressure and numbers are numbers.

Randy

Super tag

WKR
The number of non res tags wasn’t reduced, they were allocated as a percentage to each unit. I am pretty sure Idaho has had the same number of available non resident tags for many years.

We did notice a lot less pressure in our favorite hunting areas. A lot less, very noticeable.

“in the past there was no way to manage nonresident participation in each game unit or elk zone, resulting in disproportionally high numbers of nonresident hunters in some areas”

The changes were much needed.

TheTone

WKR