Idaho spring bear in Diamond Creek

Hi guys - I have a Diamond creek elk tag for fall 2022. In planning to go for a spring scouting trip, and I’m planning to get a bear tag for that trip. I’ve bumped into bears when elk hunting, but I’ve never intentionally pursued one.

This zone seems too timbered to be glassing one up. Am I stuck with dumb luck stumbling onto one in the trees, or do you have any tips to increase my chances? Is there any options for small scale baiting if I’m backpacking in?

Rob5589

WKR
Hunted there 4 years, never even saw a track. Check how many bears are killed there every year and decide if a tag is worth the price. Good luck!

OP
OleoOutfitters
Yeah, I wasn’t impressed with the harvest numbers, but wanted an excuse to get out there before elk season.

seww

WKR
I have no experience with bears in that unit but I'd love to tag along in the Spring. Am interested in a Spring bear hunt but also scouting for the fall deer and elk.
I'm a resident so haven't decided what unit for elk yet but Diamond creek is fairly close to home.

Bubba94

Lil-Rokslider
I've only seen bear scat in one area of the Diamond Creek Zone, and it was so wooded you wouldn't be able to see where the animal was anyway.

seww

WKR
I've only seen bear scat in one area of the Diamond Creek Zone, and it was so wooded you wouldn't be able to see where the animal was anyway.

Of course there's no scat in your trailer :)
Hmm sure it's denser than other units.

Only success is with hounds and bait. Almost nobody lucks into one out there. There are some nice bears, but honestly its not worth the extra time IMO. To bait, you need a baiting permit. That doesn't generally jive with a plan to pack in somewhere. Not worth it. Focus on elk.

sneaky

"DADDY"
We had a guy kill one a few years back in DC. Big cinnamon color phased. This was during elk season though, not in the spring

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Nontyp

FNG