Idaho spring bear info

mdkelley

FNG
Looking for some help to identify a couple of units that would be good for a 5-6 day spot and stalk hunt this spring (probably Memorial day - early June timeframe) so I can contact the area biologist, FW&G warden and order some topo maps of the areas. I am hoping to use my bow but will also bring a rifle incase I can't get close enough with a bow. I am most likely going solo so I would prefer to avoid any grizzly areas until I get a few hunts under my belt. Any area/unit suggestions? I will likely just camp near my truck (stock 4x4 Tacoma) and walk in each day. If a backpack hunt a couple miles in would give me a much better success rate I am up for that as well, I would just need to buy a few items to do that safely. I have a lot of questions since I have never done this before. I have been searching and reading on here pretty extensively as well as searching the internet for more info. I am healthy and exercise regularly so I can do quite a bit of hiking, just trying not to take on too much on my first hunt, want it to be fun.

some questions:

Do I need tire chains for my truck?
should I bring an ATV (and chains for that)?
How long do I need to acclimate to prevent altitude sickness or is it even needed? (I live in Michigan, flat land/swamp)
Are there any 2 tag units that I could hunt this way (truck camp or within a couple miles of the truck) or are those all rugged walk-in type areas?
What resources should I be utilizing to gather info to have a safe and fun hunt?

Spring bear is all about access. Anywhere that you need to go over 6,000 is out by truck until mid-June most years. Much of the better hunting is over by then. The two tag areas are all pretty inaccessible backcountry to my knowledge. Tough to mess with and fish and game is trying to pull you in there.

The cool thing is that Idaho spring bear is not excessively crowded like most OTC areas in the state for deer and elk. Backpack hunting is normally not required.