If you could only take one decoy...

dmozer74

FNG
For the first time in my life I'll be chasing some Merriam's Turkeys around the foothills near where I live in Colorado. I've been backcountry hunting for elk the last couple years, so I have a lot of the gear like camo, game care accessories, pack, etc. I don't want to go all out on specific turkey gear since this is my first year (and I have a lot of kids). So I'm planning to get a full or extra full choke for my 12ga, a slate call and a decoy. I have the call and choke picked out, but I am looking at a few inexpensive decoy options. Am I better off bringing along a jake or a hen? Or should I pick up something else for a decoy entirely? I've been spending a lot of time researching this, but everyone seems to just suggest picking up 3 decoys. I will eventually be there if I find I enjoy it as much as I anticipate, but I just want to keep it cheap to keep the wife happy this spring.

fatlander

WKR
If you’re going to bother with carrying a decoy, there’s one that all others are measured against: DSD Jake. Not knowing how to run that slate call is going to be more detrimental than anything. Don’t over call, don’t call too loudly, and don’t be one dimensional.

In all honesty, if you can pattern the birds, and be where they want to be, the game is a whole lot easier. You would never have to make a call or even use a decoy, but that’s boring. Turns turkey hunting into whitetail hunting.

If you just want to kill a gobbler, find a place the gobblers like to strut after they fly down each morning, be there well before day light, set your Jake decoy at about 20 yards and do some light calling every 10-15 minutes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Oregon

WKR
Call me crazy, but Merriams are the only Turkey species I don’t use decoys. I’ve killed them all.

Pattern those buggers, soft Yelp, scratch your fingers in pine needles, lay prone, and at 1138 each morning whack that Merriam Tom.

jmez

WKR