Insert questions.

andydwyer

WKR
Hey fellas,

I'm pretty new to archery, and I'm running into some confusion. I'm trying to add weight to my arrow setup, but I can't figure out what I'm supposed to buy.

I'm using CX 300s which I gather have been out of production for a while -- I'm pretty sure they're .244 diameter and 30" long. My buddy "lent" me his old setup; everything is very lightly used but 15 years old.

Anyways, I'm looking to add a 100gr insert and then test with a variety of point weights to get the best flight. Theres a lot of info out there, and I'm getting lost in the weeds. Especially since none of the archery pro shops around me carry this kind of stuff.

Any recommendations on what insert to get? And why you'd choose that one?

Last edited:
Any run-of-the-mill aluminum insert will work fine for testing purposes as long as the insert OD matches the arrow ID. Measure the arrow ID with calipers if you have a set. I ordered these off-brand .244" aluminum inserts from Amazon this spring to build some target/3D arrows and was very pleased with the quality/consistency, especially at such a low price: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PR8BQLM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_HFBgFbC1AP588

The quickest/easiest way to experiment with arrow weight would be to shoot field points of various weights. 100 and 125 grain points are pretty common. 150, 175, 200 gr can be found but are less common. Field points are typically sold in quantities of 12, but if you don't want to commit to that many, GrizzlyStik offers a test kit consisting of 6 different points ranging from 100 to 315 gr: https://www.grizzlystik.com/mobile/GrizzlyStik-Field-Point-Testbr-6-Pack-1-Each-P164.aspx