Instant Pot + Shanks - school me.

I have an instant pot I got for christmas sitting in the box. Quarintime has kept the smoker and slow cooker going strong but I want to give this thing a try. I was thinking about a sort of Oso Bucco type preparation. From what I gather it should break them down nicely. So how long to cook them and on what setting? I have zero experience with this thing so please use small words.

Ucsdryder

WKR
I’ve tried numerous times to do shanks in the insta pot. They have never come out right. I much prefer the slow cooker for shanks. Here are some antelope shanks I made last week. They were unbelievable.

Attachments

• B60E3083-F773-4314-8FE0-2697BE03D02D.jpeg
    B60E3083-F773-4314-8FE0-2697BE03D02D.jpeg
    247.6 KB · Views: 69
Really love the Instant Pot for beans and other simple recipes so far. For shanks and other tough cuts I still prefer the slow cooker, or better yet the Dutch oven. Braising shanks in the Dutch Oven has produced the best and fastest results for me. I have braised shanks and bone-in roasts in the Dutch Oven for 3 or 4 hours and had the same results in what takes the Slow Cooker 8 or more hours. When it comes to the Instant Pot I am still a Rookie though so maybe there is a technique.

Brendan

WKR
Speaking of Shanks though: French Dip. Thank me later ;)

Braise shanks in dutch oven until fall off the bone tender. Layer on French bread, add cheese, broil to melt, save the stock for dipping. Might be my favorite so far...

(Did these with Elk, have done venison too)
4af211f013e447c5c81bb7c220236b4e.jpg

HGrodner

FNG
Speaking of Shanks though: French Dip. Thank me later ;)

Braise shanks in dutch oven until fall off the bone tender. Layer on French bread, add cheese, broil to melt, save the stock for dipping. Might be my favorite so far...

(Did these with Elk, have done venison too)
4af211f013e447c5c81bb7c220236b4e.jpg

looks delicious! Gonna have to try that.