Is 3 fletch v. 4 fletch a poor man’s/poor form way of tuning?

FCMD

FNG
I’m new to archery and have attempted bare shaft tuning. I work every day on my form and am improving. I’ve paper tuned, bare shaft tuned, walked back tuned French tuned and am beyond frustrated. I know I’m not good enough to bareshaft tune- rest is waaaay too off center to be correct.

Anyway today I French tuned (again) and at 3y and 50y got it dead on the string. I was using 4 fletched arrows.

Then I shot exact same 3 fletched arrows which, as anticipated shot 2” higher but also shot 4-6” left at 50. Can that be interpreted as a poor man’s (poor form) bareshaft tune and indeed my arrows are pointing left because of less steering input?

The bottom line is I want to improve my form with a properly set up bow and not one already set up for compensation. I’m just not good enough to tune it.

Mathews V3 31”, 68# (actual), 28” draw, VAP TKO 300 spine 28” 490gr build.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

D.Rose

Lil-Rokslider
Is your running way out to the left to get it to paper tune? Probably just need to flip your tophats around and shim your cam over. One extra vane aint gonna make up for bad form or a bad tune. If it aint shootin good with 3 fletch then dont expect much different with 4. It will help some but not enough.

SharpEnd

FNG
You have top-shelf equipment, get the bow set up / tuned properly first, then proceed with tuning the arrows. Did you buy new from a dealer?

OP
F

FCMD

FNG
Thanks to all.

Yes, but replaced the strings & rest myself. I had to quit golfing due to injury, so put all my efforts into archery -used to build my own clubs spine my shafts, etc (had a better pro shop at home than my local country club) which now makes me a dangerous tinkerer. No shop near me- closest is an hour away.