Is it too late to think about changing careers and becoming a Game Warden or Deputy Sherriff at 54 years old?

ELKhunter60

Lil-Rokslider
Hey Roksliders,

This is a long story but to keep it short I'll say I always wanted to be a Game Warden or Deputy Sherriff. When I met my wife, I was 17 and was trying to decide which career path to follow - manufacturing or law enforcement. My wife's father was in law enforcement and advised me not to get into it. I took his advice and went into manufacturing. Today I'm an Engineering Manager at an Automotive Manufacturing company. I've had a good career with good pay, raised my kids, put them through college. Then the other day a guy at work came up to me and asked me "If you had to do it all over again, would you do this?" I hesitated for a moment and thought, and then replied back "no, I should have been a Game Warden or Deputy". Now I can't stop thinking about it.

I'd be willing to go back to school to get a criminal justice degree, I can pass the physical, and I can meet the background check requirements. But let's be honest - I have grey hair and I don't have bulging muscles. Does anyone on the forum that does this kind of work have an opinion? Do I have a decent shot considering the circumstances, or should I give up on it? Please be honest. I'd be willing to relocate to any western state that holds elk to follow this dream.

You only live once! No reason to go through life unhappy when you can make a choice to change that. Maybe look into an internship or ride-along so you can experience that career first hand before making a big change.

Rokbar

WKR
Times a wasting. I would think being a deputy would be an easier way to go. More of them than wardens.

Many departments have a maximum age cut off, some don't. Obviously it is a huge career change, and at 54 you need to give it some serious thought. But, if it is really what you want, I say go for it.

Bärenjäger

Lil-Rokslider