Is Jan OTC solo Arizona Archery Coues right for me?

Joe5000

FNG
Thinking of doing an OTC Arizona archery coues hunt in Jan. I am relatively new to archery hunting and this would be my first western solo hunt (archery or otherwise). I would prob target central part of state. I would be solo.

I realize this is a low success hunt. I think I would enjoy just being able to see some deer/new country..

Reason for my post...from a "safety" perspective is this a dumb idea? Meaning border problems, being solo in rough terrain etc. I thankfully younger and in good health but I will admit I am newer to hunting and my outdoor skils could be alot sharper.

Any input on whether this is a good or bad idea would be greatly appreciated. I am also flexible on unit/part of state if there is somewhere to go that is less remote etc. I am imagining most of the BLM land being out of cell range.

I think you'll be fine, in fact it's probably a great idea for a first western hunt. I've done 2 solo hunts in Jan down there and it's not as bad as you might think. If you're targeting mid-state there are no border issues. Most of the biting critters are dormant and you'll have a great opportunity to sit and glass up some deer. Just don't sit on a prickly pear or put your hand out to brace yourself on a saguaro. ;)

jspradley

WKR
You most likely won't die. One of those GPS beacons that let you send simple messages might go far in easing your mind.

I'd love to do a solo Coues hunt, just sitting glassing by myself sounds amazing. Might have to put that into the 2021 plans!

If you do manage to kill one then the packout wont be too tough!

OP
J

Joe5000

FNG
Given my concerns is central AZ the best area of the state to target? Thanks for responses

Fitzwho

WKR