It ain’t just ammo

So ammo shortages and prices are well known and publicized.

Recently learning that production and factory slow downs have limited mountain bikes and bike components in addition to fishing gear. Was pricing a new mountain bike and looking for a new tire for another and both are out of stock till at least the end of april and the guy at my shop says maybe until June. Seems like certain fishing gear is scarce as well.

thinhorn_AK

"DADDY"
Somebody told me the problem with fishing gear is that so much of it is made overseas and there just isn't as much shipping going on currently.

I'm not stating that as a fact, I have no knowledge of shipping but I can say that the shortage of fishing gear has been going on for a little while now. Even last summer I started having a tough time finding what I wanted. The shelves at many stores I have been to have also been pretty bare. Additionally, many things are sold out online and sourcing out specific lures etc can be tough. If you have a big summer of fishing planned, NOW is probably a good time to start ordering stuff up.

anything made on a production line has shortages. I am in the furniture world. Empty showrooms, 8 months to get new inventory. Long story short, there is raw material shortages, labor shortages, transportation issues. That is on domestic production. Ie when the meat packing plants where shut down, very few people thought there would be a leather shortage, but there is. No cows killed no hides to tan. just an example.

on the import side, the ports are backed up big time. In december i got a container in, the freight cost of the container was $4,000. the same company, the container i got last week cost me $7,100 in freight. dang near double in a couple of months. My containers are taking a month longer to get thru port and to me. This situation will not be going away any time soon. The other side of things, is, the demand for goods is 20 times higher than the supply of goods.

OP