Kifaru 44mag or Hoodlum

I’m debating on which of these two packs I should pull the trigger on. The 44 mag or the hoodlum. I’m from out east but typically go on an elk hunt every year for 7-10 days. We have done the stay in one spot for 10 days straight to being mobile and restocking every 3-4 days. Any opinions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you I’m advance.

Mosby

WKR
I am not an expert on Kifaru packs, as I don't own one but between the two packs mentioned, I would get the Hoodlum, simply because it is the largest of the two. The 44 mag seems like it would be a bit small for me on extended hunts and the larger pack would give you more flexibility on gear.

OP
WVHunter90
I am not an expert on Kifaru packs, as I don't own one but between the two packs mentioned, I would get the Hoodlum, simply because it is the largest of the two. The 44 mag seems like it would be a bit small for me on extended hunts and the larger pack would give you more flexibility on gear.
Thank you for your reply Mosby, that’s what I was contemplating I like the idea of the 44 mag but don’t think it’s quite big enough and I would definitely rather have unused room then not enough.

I have the 44mag and love it but I don’t usually hunt for more than 5 days at a time - if you regularly do more than 5 days you would probably need to go Hoodlum.

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member
I agree with everyone else on the Hoodlum. I just like a larger bags because it really sucks when your loading up with meat and trying to strap extra gear on the outside. Plus a larger bag is just easier to load meat in my opinion. That Hoodlum compresses so well I think you'd be happy with it.

OP
WVHunter90
I have the 44mag and love it but I don’t usually hunt for more than 5 days at a time - if you regularly do more than 5 days you would probably need to go Hoodlum.