Kifaru duplex vs hunter vs UL frames

mossyhorn

FNG
what is the difference? I have no experience with kifaru but looking at getting something to use as a daypack for elk hunting. I want something just for day hunts that I can drop an elk quarter in between the frame and bag. That's pretty much it.

I know there's lots of bag options but what's up with the frame choices? I also was hoping to buy used too to save some cash.

Im no expert but will offer what I learned because not long ago I was confused as well. There used to be a duplex frame and a bikni frame. Duplex being heavier and designed for big loads. Bikini being a lightweight option. I had a bikini frame and really liked it. It hauls heavy loads just fine and is much lighter than the duplex. I was annoyed by loads pushing through the stays and touching my back. That was my only real complaint. Also both of these frames are fairly annoying to get fitted. But once adjusted they stay in place and ride perfectly. The duplex and the bikni will be the easiest to find used because they are the older options. And there is likely a lot of people getting rid of them to get the newer offerings.

The newer offerings... there is now a new frame that comes in a tactical, hunting and ultralight configuration. Its pretty similar in each configuration but slightly different. I know little of the tactical option. I understand its a bit beefier and had has a few more strap options. The hunting and UL are the same frame but on the UL the stays are removed and replaced with carbon fiber arrows. I now have a hunting frame. I am loving it its amazing. I plan to get the arrows ($10 from kifaru or cut my own) which would allow you to make your hunting frame a UL frame by pulling out the stays and inserting the arrow stays. Which is simple and easy to do and undo.

Good luck.

dunner543

Lil-Rokslider