Kodiak goats on a budget... ?

coues craze

Lil-Rokslider
As a NR obviously I will have to go guided. I’ve used the search function on this and several sites along with good ole google plus spoken to booking agents. I have been applying for the draw permits on Kodiak for a few years but have yet to draw; which brings me to my question. Many of the outfitters in the draw areas can be found for $6500-$8500 for a goat hunt while the non draw outfitters are $10,500+. I just want to hunt goats and am not concerned with finding one that makes book. Does anyone know of a reputable outfitter that offers hunts in the non draw areas that are in that $6500-$8500 range instead of 10k+. I’d consider other areas as well. PMs are fine if you don’t want to put it out on the WWW. Thanks.

Interested in any responses or successful research that you are willing to share. I'm just starting to search for the same thing.

Unfortunately the cost of transport to non-draw area (RG480) is probably the contributing factor into the increased cost to hunt goats as a guided non-resident in that area.

OP
C

coues craze

Lil-Rokslider
Interested in any responses or successful research that you are willing to share. I'm just starting to search for the same thing.
I never received any recommendations, but I think for the registration areas it’s looking like around 11k. The draw areas can be done cheaper.

AKducks

FNG
Your odds of drawing a goat tag in one of the draw areas (non road system) are around 40%-50% (6 applications at 8-9% chance per tag). I would say put in to draw and figure 1-3 years until you draw a tag. If you want to hunt this year or next then you will probably have to spend the extra cash.

PSH

FNG