Kryptek, help me out.

Trial153

WKR
I am new to Kryptek geat, I might try a piece or two this year.

Name ONE must have Kryptek item that you have first hand experience with and you'd tell someone it's a must own.

Go......

Their hoplite merino is pretty nice and the Koldo rain jacket may not be the lightest, but that MFer is practically bullet proof! The wife and I both have the Koldo jacket and pants, very happy with all of our Kryptek gear.

Brendan

WKR
I can't tell you from personal experience with Kryptex, but the Schoeller-fabric Altitude line looks like the real deal.

Pretty sure Ryan Avery put in a vote for the Takur as the best rain jacket on the market. I'm shopping and interested, but I'd probably have to let go a nice Arc'Teryx Alpha SV to make that purchase.

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
Takur Rain gear is tough stuff! Very happy with it. Used it 5-10 days last year. Not the quietest but most rain gear isn’t.

Tora/Jacket n pant: tough and great for early season. Little loud until washed but takes a beating. Crotch sewing will look like it’s gonna separate on day one, but it’s just the design and never ripped for me. Did a season with it, prolly 20 days. One little tear in lower pant leg that’s never gone anywhere. Good looking stuff too

Gahr puffy jacket, warm, light, durable. Had a season on that one, maybe 25 days?

Vellus and Anorak jacket/coat/pants, warm, quiet but not UL. Great for October to December. I’ve got 4 seasons on the jacket and pants. Probably 30-50 days if I had to guess (as I wear other clothing each season too).

I’ve reviewed them all. I’ll post the links if needed.

@Jared Bloomgren has likely tried (and reviewed) 90%of their lines going back years if you have questions for him.

Let us know what you pick and how it does for you.

oh but in the spirit of your question, if I had to pick just “one“ it would be the GAHR. Tons of uses for it, all seasons.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited: