KUIU KENAI PANTS

Just seeing what everyones experiences is with the Kenai pants. I am head to the NBR this fall for caribou and looking for a puffy that I can use for temps between 20-50 and also possibly use back home as outerwear for whitetail before having to use my really warm gear. I have zero experience with the kenai pieces and am worried about the warmth of the pants while stationary. Any input appreciated. Not much info on them anywhere. Thanks!

68Plexi

WKR
Your mileage may vary, but my experience with the Kenai pants is they are excellent for insulation when you are moving, but they are not “down pant” warm when stationary.

I’ve worn them while hiking in the snow, sitting to glass, and for when I know the mornings are going to be cold (20’s) and zip them off for afternoons when it warms up.

Great insulation layer if you are moving, or sitting for a while and then moving, but I would think you would want something warmer if you were always going to be stationary in the 20-30’s.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Drenalin

WKR
I use them for whitetail hunting, and they're great to throw on once I get stopped. But, for me they reach their limit around 30 degrees. They are amazingly quiet, which is a huge plus for me. You used the word "outerwear" though, so I'd caution that you probably don't want to be moving through vegetation in these - they're pretty delicate.

shax2lex

Lil-Rokslider
How would you compare the Kenai pants to the FL Puffy pants for the original question?

Bringing this back up. How is the warmth on the Kenai pant. I understand it won't be as warm as down but I would hope glassing in 28 - 30 degree weather with base layer, pants and Kenai pants you would stay warm.

Pdzoller

WKR