Late Season Deep Timber Strategies

I've never been much of a deep timber hunter, at least when they're not bugling. More the spot and stalk type. That said, I'm trying to expand the tools in the kit bag.

Started hunting a small canyon / valley complex I know holds elk. It's almost all timber with very few open meadows and would take a season to comb through it. I see sign in a lot of places throughout but hard to tell if it's a couple hours or a couple days old, so that hasn't helped much as to pinpoint their exact location.

You late season timber hunters...

1. How do you decide what block of wood to start with in a sea of woods, especially when they're not bugling?
2. Are you trying to catch them bedded or realistically just bump them for a shot?
3. Do you hunt the timber all day or just hit the mornings and evening hours?

i have limited experience here compared to sum but this is what i do.

fresh snow is your best from. cut fresh tracks and follow them. some what keeping wind in mind. ( easy way)

if glassing open brush fields isn't an option id hunt up ridges in the am as high as you can until you find the the elk.

( cows and small bulls' are generally at the snow line. bigger bulls maybe another 500- 1500 feet above them depending on how deep the now it).

your best strategy is to find a few routes that give you the best chance of finding the elk bedding areas or travel rotues. . that means you may hike a ridge to the top and work a bowl around. then you drop down a ridge back to the truck. the most elk I've seen doing this is hunting down ridges and quietly still hunting across benches. if you smell elk doing this stop and look everywhere every few steps for the slightest movement. ive bumped a couples heads about 20 yards in front of me and couldnt see a single animal but smelled them and was able to sneak it.

last note a rifle you can shoot off hand and fast is your best friend here too.

Marble

WKR