Late season hot tent sheep hunting tips

Elite

WKR
Hello everyone, I am a resident in Alberta Canada. This year I am wanting to do a late season sheep hunting trip from October 25th-31st. I have hunted sheep a lot in August and September but never this late in the year. I have purchased a titanium stove and a small tipi. I am looking for tips and tricks on how to stay warm and hunt. Some issues I can think of. How do you keep your feet from not freezing when stoping to glass? Best way to keep your boots from freezing at night? Does the ground inside the tent become a complete mud mess when the stove is burning hot? Do the stoves work good to cook on? I would like to get all the needed gear and have it well thought out before October so any help would be appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Wapiti1

WKR
You might check with the Seek Outside guys, or check their website. They have several hot tent videos that have a bunch of good info on winter camping. Kifaru probably has some info too.

My experience has been the flat top stoves are good for cooking, and the tube stoves are not as good. Getting wood can be a problem if there is deep snow.

I've never had the ground thaw out in the tent. Suppose it could happen, but hasn't. I've camped on snow as well, and you just need a ground tarp.

Pay attention to venting the tent for condensation, or it will rain on you a lot.

I wear Hoffman pacs in deep snow and cold. My feet stay warm. When I stop to glass, I loosen my laces. This helps keep blood flowing and it will keep your feet warmer. Boot blankets are an option. At night, I pull the liners and put them in my bag with me. I also keep two sets of liners.