Learn from my Mistakes Mule Deer thread!!

Ok guys so I've been bowhunting for 20+ years and for some reason i have never hunted Mule Deer?? Im not sure why or how that has happened but its about to change. I thought it would be fun to do a live thread keeping up with my preparation and things i do both wrong and right with this hunt. I also have a podcast called hook and arrow that I will post links to as well as youtube videos because i plan to film a ton both before and during the hunt.

This is the moose I killed last year. (No real need for this picture other than I like to show it to people)
5a6933d92c5a7f78bc34a2a88746e7d2.jpg

I drew a Colorado archery deer tag.
I have hunted this area once 6 years ago for elk. It is gorgeous country with the bottoms being around 10K feet and where the deer are around 12k+ When i hunted it 6 years ago i never actually saw an elk but there was tons of elk sign and I saw lots of deer. That and the fact that the fishing is awesome is what led me to burn 3 points on this tag.

FIRST MISTAKE!!! My first mistake on this hunt is not scouting. I live in Texas so it is around a 14 hour drive to where i am hunting. Couple that with the fact that I have 2 year old twins that are in the middle of potty training, If i ever want to hunt again i better not try to take a scouting trip. I completely understand that scouting is important. And if i draw my Wyoming Region G tag next year I will be making a scouting trip or at least going up for a extended period of time.