Leupold 2.5-8x36 Question

bmicek

WKR
I recently purchased a Kimber Montana 280ai. My plans for hunting is whitetail, antelope, mule deer, and elk. But for now, 80% of my hunting will be whitetail.

I’d still like to set up this rifle as a “mountain rifle” so weight is a factor and so is eye relief. Every thread I read about mountain rifle optics, the VX3 2.5-8 is always recommended. Is this optic still a good option out to 400-450 yards?

My background is that I’ve always been more of a tactical shooter and I’ve shot in matches so shooting that distance is quite literally boring for me with my match rifles. But I have zero experience using a lower power optic and no dialing or holdover. Would it be ideal to find point blank range for the rifle and zero it at that, then learn the holdover for a 400 yard shot? (Ex. Hold top of back at 375 yards or whatever it would be). I’m not planning for a 450 yard shot, ideally would like to be under 200 for everything but I want to be comfortable with that shot if needed.

*Edit* And now after reading through this, maybe I shouldn’t even call it a mountain rifle. Maybe I should be calling it a dual purpose rifle. I’m a flat lander so bare with me on this topic. I’ve never hunted in a mountain setting.

Ronb

WKR
0fe2cbd06f58a242fb5e7fa45a96b4aa.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ronb

WKR
This is my montana in .270win. I had the 2-8x36 then changed to the vx3i-10x40 boone and crockett. I wanted more light gathering in timber. Also great eye relief. I also had the talley rings fail on a hard fall. So I just upgraded to a leupold backcountry rail with seekins rings. The rifle still only weighs 6.5 lbs. I feel confident taking a 400yrd shot.

cbeard64

WKR