Leupold 3-9x40 American Marksman on sale

Guys, I just bought one of these on sale for $159 with free shipping from Bass Pro (I think Cabelas has them too), and it's as good as I had hoped.

Leupold American Marksman Rifle Scope | Bass Pro Shops

I love the LR Wind Plex reticle.

Looks like they (leupold) used some parts from their Redfield line (magnification ring and turret caps) and I was a bit concerned that this scope had the lower quality Redfield glass, but it doesn't. It's as sharp and bright as any Leupold I've ever used, and I've owned about 6 now.

I threw it on my 6.5 Grendel Howa Mini and was cranking out 2" groups at 300 yards within a half hour at the range yesterday. I wanted a lightweight scope for that Howa Mini, but also wanted 9x and a ballistic reticle. I don't see how you could do any better than this one.

Outstanding value in a scope with long range capability. Just thought I'd pass it along.

• Banned
OP
Newtosavage
I read the same review. I have no experience with VX-2 glass, but I've owned several VX-1 scopes and several Vari-X ii scopes before those. The modern VX-1 scopes are much better than the old Vari-X ii scopes were, without a doubt. And the old Vari-X ii's weren't bad. They just weren't as bright or sharp edge to edge as the newer VX-1's.

Of all the VX-1's I've owned, the two 2-7x33's are the brightest and sharpest, but that's no surprise since they are only 7x at the high end.

I don't have a 3-9x40 VX-1 right now to compare this scope to, but from what I can recall, this image looks to my eyes very similar. If it's any better than the VX-1, then it's not by much. Although that's not a bad thing since IMO the VX-1's are awfully good and better than any other scope I've used in their price range.