Lightest weight cold weather hammock set up?

IDspud

Lil-Rokslider
TLDR; Looking for a new sleep set up that's going to get me to 0F and is as light as possible. Comparing models between HH and Warbonnet is challenging me because of the extra required rigging rainfly etc. What's your setup look like and weight complete? Underquilt or sleeping pad? I've been using Eberlestocks two bag 4 season system and have yet to be cold. I accidentally slept in the summer bag(mixed them up in the dark) down to 28 and was a little chilly but ok.

I've been using a Hennessey Hammock for about 8 years. Last night I got in a spot miles up in the mountains in the snow alone. The only tree I could find was small and eventually fell over almost on top of me in the middle of the night. My rainfly stopped being waterproof apparently. Got wet but stayed warm enough. It's never been the comfiest trying to use a thermarest sleep pad that always shifts out from under me, but underquilts always seemed bulky and heavy. It's time to replace it and I'm trying to figure out the best option.

I'm not opposed to a ground set up either, but doing this on snow I imagine being suspended is better? During the warmer times I just throw my shit on the dirt and cowboy camp. Even though I was slightly wet last night I was still warm enough. Wondering if I even need an underquilt with my bags, or if I could ditch one if I got the underquilt? Underquilt vs double layer hammock with insulation sandwiched?

Last edited: