Lighting for Backpack elk Hunt

Samee0621

FNG
So I am a novice hunter and I’m finishing up putting together my gear for the hunt. I’m going backpack hunting for elk during first rifle in CO and I’m wondering what does everyone use for lighting? I’m definitely going to bring a headlamp but I’m also pondering bringing a small lantern.

In everyone’s experience when buying a headlamp should I get one that also has red/green lighting as well? I get the vibe from things I’ve read that while traveling to where I plan to be before day break to hunt it is best to use a red/green option instead of the bright white LED.

As far as the lantern goes I’m thinking a small lantern like offered by Goal Zero. I would use it at camp after dark and also while field dressing an elk, should I get one at a time where I’ll be working in the dark.

Any info y’all can provide us much appreciated

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Luci light might be worth looking into if your covering any distance. I always just use white light on my head lamp

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
Do you think having a red or green light on the headlamp is something I should look for?

I personally don’t care much about red/green, especially in rifle season. If you’re using those lights then you can’t shoot anyway, too early. Just get a good dimmable headlamp, be careful where you shine it, and call it good....archery is a different story. Most decent lamps have a red setting anyhow (even my dirt-cheap backup does); I only use red in the summer to keep from attracting bugs as I get into my shelter.