Load development technique

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
*Apologize for the repost, accidentally put this in the long range shooting forum just above this one by accident.*

I’m just getting into reloading, I have a 280 ai that I’d like to do some load development for, my question is where is the best place to start, do you start by trying different bullets, and then once you find which one the gun shoots well start testing different powder weights? This is 90% long range hunting rifle no competition shooting or anything like that, if that’s the case do you just pick the bullet that best fits the game your targeting and as long as they don’t shoot like crap go straight to load testing?

Another 280 ai specific question, I did pick up some 280 Remington ammo since 280 ai is hard to find at the moment. Is fire formed brass less ideal or is it a non factor?

Also any recommendations on a reloading supplies store that’s a on stop shop for all things powder primer and bullets? Veteran discount would be a bonus as well.

If you wanna just shoot long distance pick a high bc bullet. Make sure your twist is correct for the weight. Pick a powder. Do some research. You’ll likely find several examples of the bullet weight you wanna use and various powders that work. Either pick what you might have on hand, but that repeated is worth hunting for. Brass doesn’t have to be complicated, but it needs to be prepped. The more uniform you can make it all the better off you’ll be. Fireforming isn’t anything new. You might get different results from 280 brass to what is fireformed. Just know that going in.

Micmac

FNG
At the moment a one stop shop is unlikely. Search for the powder you want. It's unlikely that store will also have the bullets and primers you need. At the moment you have to shop around

LaHunter

WKR
What worked for me was:
1) select the bullet based on your intended purpose. Do some research on different bullets. Some are easier to develop loads with than others.