Looking for hunting buddy Second Archery New Mexico Unit 51

Puttncut

FNG
I fully understand how complex this situation can be but it's worth a try. I hunted this unit last year with a non-hunting friend who is not available for 2021. I will either draw or purchase a LO tag. I will be 64 next September and don't think it wise to attempt this hunt solo. I am in relative good shape but I take my time. This will be my 7th archery elk hunt - I know how to call - have come close multiple times - but have never drawn blood. I won't mind hunting solo but feel it would be more enjoyable to have a friend in camp. I have all equipment for a comfortable tent camp including an ATV. I am also a pretty good camp cook. I sometimes have bad camp-food gas... I smoke...and I will have a sip or two before lights out. Other than that, I'm easy to get along with. Interested?

Might be hard to make it happen, I am a new hunter I have many years of firearms never hunting though, I recently got back involved in bows to hunt with my step dad. We did scout around for many hours further south with no real luck and if it can happen I would not mind helping if I could learn. I smoke as well, and I do enjoy adult beverages before bed. I am 100% comfortable and prefer a sleeping bag in the back of my truck, if you would like to discuss please feel free to contact me, I joined here just to respond but I am about to make sure that I have notifications turned on if I can.

OP
Puttncut

Puttncut

FNG
Just saw your response Drifter - thanks! I'm not totally against having a novice elk hunter with me - beginners luck is a very true thing in elk hunting. I certainly am no expert but to be honest - the fact you've not hunted much makes me a bit nervous. We can continue this conversation for sure - so tell me about yourself - where ya from - how you plan to get a tag - what equipment you shoot and how well - etc. Thanks again for your response...I look forward to hearing back from you.

Jaker_cc

WKR