Looking to buy a muzzleloader

I'm new to the muzzleloader game, but have about 5 years experience with rifles and reloading. Looking at the brands and was wondering what to go with? I've been looking at CVA and knight. I plan to use the muzzle loader in Colorado, new mexico, and iowa. I plan to hunt elk, moose, mule deer and whitetails. Looking to have something that is colorado legal and something that I can slap a scope on easily for iowa and new mexico. Also looking to get something that I can get components for easily right now. Wondering what powder and primers people are using and if they are a available right now or if they'll be hard to get ahold of. Thanks for any help!

pirogue

WKR
I would not have a CVA contaminate my hands. A couple years ago, I watched my son’s misfire twice. He proceeds to take it apart, and it fires. Luckily, no bodily injury, but plenty of property damage.

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
I'm the opposite-- I have a cva paramount pro and it's one of the most accurate rifles I've ever shot. I'm thinking about using it on my sheep hunt rather than the rifle i built to take.
I have a knight UL and it's a nice rifle too but in the same league as the paramount.

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

The gun thing is pretty subjective. The main thing I would think is to start buying BH 209 and 209 caps whenever you see them. Im luckily stocked but I hear that the craze has trickled down to ML components as well.
Best of luck

Wapiti1

WKR
Couple of things to think about. Does the rifle you are looking at have options for ignition? i.e. can it use a cap and 209 primer, or just one (may need a conversion kit)? Can it be compliant in 49 states (PA not considered)? It may matter if you want to hunt, say, Idaho.