Luxe Tipi Initial Review

RescueBob

FNG
I am brand new to the tipi and hot tent game and after months of research and waffling on the best bang-for-buck entry level setup, I picked up a Luxe Megahorn XL tipi, paired with a Seek Outside XL stove with 9' pipe.

I was looking for something big enough to put up to 4-5 people in with a wood stove, best bang for buck to try the style out, and packed size/weight parameters that made it no problem for horseback or ATV camping.

I did the initial set up and stove burn in today and thought I'd share a few observations that may be useful if you're considering something similar. Feel free to throw other observations you more experienced folks might have into the comments.

THE TENT
1) Size - This particular tent is advertised as an 8 person, but obviously that is an optimistic max. I believe 4 people with stove, low profile cots and gear is probably the comfortable max. For just myself, the wife and our 2 german shepherds, it will be more than spacious allowing for bad weather days inside the tent with chairs and a cooking area. I am 5' 10" and can easily stand in a good size area toward the middle of the tent.

2) Weather - I set up in moderate wind with 35 ish mph gusts. It is CRITICAL that it be staked out well, especially with the stove in it. I will be picking up some longer and heavier duty stakes as the moderate winds caused the included ones to pull out of fairly firm soil or bend. There are additional tie out points that should firm it up very nicely if needed. Snow load... I have no idea yet, but it seems if using the additional tie out points it should do just fine.

3) Stove - The SO XL stove seems to be a little oversized for this tent, but I did do the burn in with 45 ish degree and sunny weather so I will have to revisit that later. I would rather it be oversized than under anyways.