MagnetoSpeed Chronos

I'm looking to purchase my first chronograph and have been giving the Sport model a look at $179. From the videos and reviews that I've seen so far, they seem like a straight forward, accurate and convenient unit to set up and use, even in shit weather. Does anyone here have any experience with them, or anything positive/negative to comment? The V3 model has a bunch of whistles and bells, but not sure it would be worth twice the price at $360.

lennywd87

Lil-Rokslider
I have the sporter and it works great. I have used it for 17 to 30 caliber and it work well enough in my mind to do what’s needed. I had to up the sensitivity of the unit to get it to read the 17s but other than that I’ve had no issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

D_Dubya

Lil-Rokslider
I have been using the sporter for the last two years, works great. I’ve used it from .22 caliber to .50 cal muzzleloader. Easy and straightforward to use. Velocities have pretty much matched up with trajectories in the rifles I shoot long range with; or close enough to make minimal tweaks to bc or velocity in my ballistics program to get good dope.

onetohunt

Lil-Rokslider
just to ask a question on the sporter, does it work well with a carbon barrel and break? Sorry not trying to high jack your thread, but i'm kinda in the same boat as the OP.

BCsteve

WKR
I’ve got the V3, it’s great. Never missed at shot, can install it without having to wait for a ceasefire, no tripod needed, etc…The only downside is that it can affect POI and your safer chrono’ing shots and shooting for groups in separate steps.

My sporter works even strapped to my suppressor. Didn’t really value the extra functions of the v3, since I only use the chrono for a starting point. YMMV

The battery compartment on the older models was a little flimsy, so I mounted the display to an old reloading die box.

OP
eaglemountainman