Managing recoil on a bench rest and shouldering a rifle

Opia

FNG
Im not completely new to rifles but I bought my first bigger caliber rifle (.270win) about 10 months ago and have been going to the range on and off to practice marksmanship and learn to manage recoil. Other than a little muzzle jump I'm still learning to control, the recoil hasn't been a problem or painful until recently. I've been shooting at the range with a front rest and without a rear bag to rest the butt of my stock on and the recoil hasn't hurt at all. This weekend I used a rear bag to try and steady my shots a little better passed 200 yards and every shot I took felt like a mule kicked me in the peck/shoulder. The way I was setting up into the rifle didn't feel much different than without a rear bag, but I was never able to find the shoulder pocket to keep the recoil under control. I shoot right handed and was sitting at a bench and it kind of felt like i had to lean to my right to get behind the rifle, but could never get square behind it. Curious if this has happened to any of you or if anyone has some tips on how to properly set up on a bench with a rear bag? Things like the seat height, how high you have your rifle off the bench, etc. Thanks guys!

Last edited:

Rich M

WKR
recoil pad on rifle (they make some that just slip on)
wearing heavier clothes
I've been known to fold up a towel and put it on my shoulder during long sessions

Getting the rifle in tight is a good idea. Solid cheek weld is important too but sometimes not possible if your scope has medium or high rings.

Shoulder pocket is about where your chin hits if you turn your head into your shoulder. Just turn your head to the right, then tilt your head down - that's your shoulder pocket.

270 isn't a real heavy hitter, you'll likely get used to it. If you find the 270 is still too much after a while, then you're gonna have to step down. 6.5 CM is a light hitter, 7mm 08 is another.